A Memorable Question

img_20161113_105723-2

One of the better questions I was asked way back in the beginning of my time here on FetLife.

“I just want you to be honest with yourself and realistic about what’s ahead, it may be that if you find the right person for you and I am not saying it will be me, it may very well throw everything up in the air. Can you really walk away from your heart’s desire, the possibility of a true D/s relationship, a loving and healthy, kinky sex life, the chance of real happiness? If that were to happen it may be the catalyst to really make you have to make some life altering decisions. Can you stay where you are if the chance of that fulfilment was just there, within grasp and you can’t have it because you are tied to someone else?”

It has been five years now since I received this question via a message here on Fet. Reading back on it again recently I was reminded of the rawness of the situation I was in back then. It might have taken me awhile to answer this truthfully, and more importantly to back it up with actions, but I’m so glad now that I have done. Trusting yourself means living out what you already know to be true. See Things for What They Are – As long as you stay in a relationship that isn’t meeting your needs, you’re in a relationship that isn’t meeting your needs. Moving On – When moving on with your life, there are going to be things that you lose and things that you gain. Be prepared for both. And remember you and you alone are in charge of your own life!

Leave a Reply

